Options

Transitioning to Cyber Security from Systems Administration

lavidicuslavidicus Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I've recently seen a post on linked in talking about the gap for cyber security trained individuals and I'm wondering what your thoughts are on how to best bridge that gap if your someone who wants to move into the cyber security field after 15+ years of Systems Administration.

I've worked in the DoD domain for the last 15 years as a sys admin and I have extensive experience in unix / secure information processing. I'm sort of an all in one sysadmin that handles database, networking and system administration with my strengths being more systems design / architecture leaning.

Since March of this year I've gotten busy studying to get caught up to the rest of the industry and to move out of the systems admin side and into cyber security. I've recieved my ITIL,Sec+,CISA,CISSP and I'm about to complete the MCSA 2012, with the expectation of getting the MCSE. Also for reference I've held a clearance for the last 15 years.

With that experience what would you all recommend I focus on going forward in regards to training/certifications, or what steps should I take to move into cyber security, and which side of cyber security would my skills best fit?

And then the more political/though provoking question. If there is a gap in cyber security trained individuals, why are companies not hiring people with systems or networking experience and moving them into the security field. It would seem that by making an investment in those people by providing training, and requiring that they sign a contract to stay within the company for X amount of years is a better solution than allowing that gap to remain. Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What exactly do you want to do in security? Sounds like you have some valuable experience and some great certs as well.
  • Options