Options

Next career step from IT Support

lloris_20lloris_20 Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I am new here, but been reading some stuff here lately. I feel I need some career advice in IT from the experienced people in here.
I currently work as a IT tech support for a retailer in Australia, I have a masters in IT , but wish to enter the networking field. I have read and watched techies say that its difficult to get in, and people stay on lower roles for long time. I am currently studying W.Odom's CCNA ICND1 book , just for knowledge sake. Its been great so far and I like learning about networking. I do not have any previous networking related job experience, but I have studied networking during my engineering. The current job is just laptop/pc servicing type role and its paying me enough but zero job satisfaction. There is also no path for progress here.

My problem is I wish somehow to get my foot through in a networking role, even if it is lower role, like a network support technician or network operation technician. My questions are:

- Is it absolutely necessary to get CCNA certified to work in a networking profile, or is a thorough knowledge enough?
- I thought for applying to Network Test Analyst roles, where there is a python testing and networking combo required. I havent seen many roles like those to apply. (I have self taught Python )
- What about Helpdesk roles? Are they a good stepping stone or should I just target networking roles only?
- what will be a good starting role for networking field? I am currently extremely fed up of my current job which i do part time and I wish to change jobs.

Kindly lend me your best advice as I am a bit lost atm , when it comes to deciding at the next step of action. As I said I like networking, and I am sincere and dedicated to whatever I study and focus on, just that I cant be learning always and not getting the type of work to do , for which I am spending hours studying on weekends.

Thanks guys,

Cheers!