Options

Next Security Cert

markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
So the company I just got hired onto will pay for any security certification and depending on the budget, will put me through a bootcamp if necessary. I'm really not 100% sure which way to go so I wanted to ask for some advice. It's my first pure infosec job, so I don't have a ton of experience, but I'm not a complete newb either. I'm still in my MS degree, but may have some downtime in a month (or I just start next year after I finish) Here's some of what I'm thinking:

CISSP - I want to get this regardless. I think I just meet the experience requirements for this. They may want me to get a technical cert before then but not 100% sure.

GSEC - They've mentioned this one. This wouldn't be a bad cert to get. I can even use my lead's index.

OSCP - Right now we hire a 3rd party to do the majority of our pen testing so this may be something to look at. I have almost zero pen testing experience.

CASP - Another solid cert that I'm leaning towards getting at some point.

Other - Another SANS cert or something is an option.

Comments

• Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The OSCP is a knock-down drag out fight, that's something that will take a while. GSEC is the most expensive, so if your job is willing to pay for that I'd say go for that one. The CISSP is great to have, but that is something you can study for on your own or perhaps that is something your job will pay for after your GSEC.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Based on the information you provided I'd says GSEC then CISSP. Then see where interest/needs are and go from there. As said, OSCP is going to be a big task with no pen test experience and probably something you want to build up to...maybe look at elearnsecurity pen testing (eJPT?) as an intro into that.