If a job doesn't work out

ElGato127ElGato127 Member Posts: 130 ■■■□□□□□□□
For those of you who have had a job not work out:

I have been working at a help desk position for the past 6 months, when I was informed things were just not working out. I had suspected I wasn't fitting in with this particular team.

I have learned a lot during this time, and think another go at a different place would work just fine. Only problem is how to convince another hiring manager to give me a chance?

What have you done to get through the various "firewalls" in the hiring process after such a situation? If you have any questions just ask.

Thanks

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Contract ran out, that is what I said. Curious, did they like your work? Could you use them as a reference? If not, do not use them as a reference and do not check for HR to call.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It really just depends on how you were let go. Were you a contractor? If so you can just say that "it was a contract role" and that'll be the end of the questioning most likely. If you were a temp to hire, you could say it was a temp role. If you were hired and they actually fired you then you'll have to come up with a different way to explain it.

It's really all about how you spin it, don't totally lie, but there are more favorable ways of saying the same thing. Telling a hiring manager "I don't think I got along with the team so they let me go" is pretty much a death sentence in an interview. If you just focus on "convincing another hiring manager" then you're already on the defensive which isn't a good way to start.
  • ElGato127ElGato127 Member Posts: 130 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I have a supervisor reference from them, but the rest of management would probably not be as supportive.
    Well, then say you were a temp and give the supervisor's reference. End of story