Options

Is the CISSP worth it at this point in my career?

atippettatippett Member Posts: 154
So, currently I'm a senior in college interning as a network engineer. I passed the Sec+ easily, only studying for about a month, about 1-2 hours a day. By the way, my major is cybersecurity. I was talking to a senior network engineer the other day and he said he was studying for the CISSP, since he just got his Masters in cybersecurity. So the question came up, "You're majoring in cybersecurity young intern, why don't you get your CISSP Associate?"

Well, we had a conversation about it and what not. My argument was that the CISSP looks to me almost like a Masters degree - the jobs that require that cert are jobs that require 7+ years of experience. Obviously, being a senior in college, I don't have that experience. He was telling me that if I got the CISSP Associate at such a young age then that would show potential employers that 1. I know what I'm doing and don't just have book knowledge 2. I'm somebody that will put forth the effort needed to get things done (seeing as the CISSP is such an advanced cert).

What do you guys think? Is it pointless at this point in my career?

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    He was telling me that if I got the CISSP Associate at such a young age then that would show potential employers that 1. I know what I'm doing and don't just have book knowledge 2. I'm somebody that will put forth the effort needed to get things done (seeing as the CISSP is such an advanced cert).

Completely disagree with #1, it shows them that you only have book knowledge. How would having zero working security experience and studying a book show that you have more than just book knowledge?

Also, it's not a "CISSP Associate", you can't even write that on your resume. It's an "Associate of ISC2" which almost no random hiring manager knows what that means, which is the whole reason why you're doing this in the first place.