Lost in the sea of certs

sanctizzlesanctizzle Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Everyone! Long time lurker on this site but first time posting.

I am posting this in hopes that I can get some guidance, basically I graduated with my MS in Info Assurance and got my Sec+ cert shortly after, however I was without a job and basically accepted the first thing I could after graduating which was a Net Admin position at a Law Firm here in Colorado.

Now the experience I am gaining and the responsibilities i have are great, I pretty much run the whole shop - Veeam Backups, VMware environment, SAN datastorage, NAS datastorage, all the networking and switching, heading up a Voip migration, DMS, Exchange, vMPLS between the site locations, its a wide range of a lot of stuff except one thing.... security.

We are a small shop with a lot of tech, so the vMPLS routers really do all the security and there isn't much emphasis on security from the top down throughout the company no matter how hard i push and pry to get my role more towards that goal. With that being said I think I really want to hunker down and start more self studying to get some more certs under my belt so I can find an actual security role, what I have wanted for years now but just cant seem to find.

I was thinking of going for a CASP but not sure if it is worth it. I know there are experience restrictions and such for a CISSP but apparently you can just take that whenever and if you don't meet the requirements you get a CISSP-Associate? There is also SCCP, CEH, eJPT.... I just don't know which direction to go, there are so many certs and organizations out there its like an ocean. Any insight or personal experience you can give me would be fantastic, thanks so much!

Comments

• nebula105nebula105 Member Posts: 60 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hey there!

I feel the most important thing you should do, is to take one or two days off and just really reflect and get a feel of what you want to do.