Options

Well-Roundedness (Cloud/Future jobs)

sillymcnastysillymcnasty Member Posts: 254 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello:

Couple things I've noticed while looking for regular non-cloud Network Admin/NOC/Whatever jobs. Even the networking-only jobs seem to want a little of everything which is fine. Mostly things like Windows Server, Active Directory (A LOT), security, virtualization, etc.

Long term, I want to get into the cloud. But any cloud job I see requires years of experience, and essentially the skills of what on-prem people would need (it seems), and then just moving it onto the cloud.

So with that being said, I don't want to get too ahead of myself. Right now, I just have the CCNA and Network+. I'm studying for AWS.

So I know, it all depends on what kind of job you get, and the cloud is vast and all. But what are some other general skills I should have so that I'm well-rounded and an ideal candidate? Should I get other certs before AWS? Like security+ or CCNA Sec, etc. I don't know any programming languages, or scripting. Should I learn python?

I know I'm all over the place, but still. Any help will suffice lol.

Comments

• Options
    MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think AWS is a smart move. You may want to pick up some Azure skills, as well. Python is real popular these days, it wouldn't hurt to add it to your list.

What do you do now?
  • Options
    MitM wrote: »
    I think AWS is a smart move. You may want to pick up some Azure skills, as well. Python is real popular these days, it wouldn't hurt to add it to your list.

What do you do now?

Currently I do basic IT break/fix work. I've been doing this for a while before I decided I needed to move up. Can't lie, I got comfortable.