Options

Asking for a raise??

Networkguy86Networkguy86 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I'm currently looking to ask for a raise at my job but looking for some validation To make sure I'm not out of line in my thinking.

Background: I have 6 years experience in IT and have been working for my current company for just under 3 years. I started as general support but was promoted network administrator a year ago. I'm currently the only network guy managing a network of over 100 remote sites on an mpls, including voip phones, our corporate office, and all the things in between such as user and site vpn connections. I'm also currently redesigning our entire network to save us a lot of money

At first we had a contracted engineer to help out but they let him go a few months ago. When I received the promotion I received 10% salary increase and now make 64k.

I would like to make 75-80k, does anyone think a raise of this magnitude be out of the question?

In the past year I've also earned my ccna security and ccnp:rs.

Comments

• Options
    MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    How long ago was your promotion? And what are you willing to do should you not get a nice raise? And have facts behind you to show you deserve a larger than standard raise. Highlight your tasks, new certs since your promotion, and the long term projects and the positive progress you are making with them. If you have your ammunition ready to counter any qualms about giving you any raise it will make it hard for them to say no.

Now that said, if your company just isn't giving raises out and it's out of your bosses control to approve it that could be a risk. How he conveys that to the decision makers to fight for you to get that raise will be huge. Many companies will play chicken and say no or just give out a pity raise that is far lower than you hoped.