Options

How to list experience on resume if worked in IT years ago ?

Moon ChildMoon Child Member Posts: 197 ■■■□□□□□□□
How do I list IT experience on resume if it has been years since you have been in IT?

I thought about on resume putting at top a section called "Relevant IT Experience" or "Computer Experience" and then listing under that my current experience which has not been in IT. Got listed under that my current experience working in Security, then before that as a paraprofessional, then before that subsitute teaching and doing my masters degree in Education. Problem with listing my MsEd on resume is employers only seem to see that and miss the line below that says "bachelors in Computer Information System with Minor in Business Administration (AACSB accredited)". They say job requires a bachelors in computer related degree and I tell them I have a bachelors in CIS, it is listed below my masters on resume. Then I get a reply that they just read top line of resume and didn't bother reading the line below that listed my bachelors.

I have bounced around between several career paths, a lot wasted time. I had previously worked doing as a PHP programmer years ago and also did PC repairs for clients and doing small easy networking on site that didn't deal with anything complicated like CISCO routers. I for some reason thought it was good to have several career paths not just one, more flexibility. When I left the PHP job (big mistake), I told a co-worker I wanted to go back to school to get a masters degree and license in teaching because I wanted multiple career paths for job security so I could always fall back on other options. He at time told me I should stay with company and in IT field. He said one big problem he saw with that idea was less money. I learned the hard way he was right! Being a jack of all trades is not a good idea and it is better to be focused and specialized on one career path, oh well can't fix my mistakes in life.