Options

Is this a good path? BS-IT security >Cybersecurity and Information Assurance....

Is this a good path? WGU BS:IT security and then get the WGU MS in cyber security and information assurance. All school no work: meaning I have zero work experience the whole time going to school. Then after finishing MS, I would intern for a Information Security Analyst position to get foot in the door. And work from bottom to management one day. Estimate Arrival date to get master is around 5 years. I willing to pay the price to get there in 5 years. What do you guys think of my plan?

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I wouldn't do that. Why not work on your BS and try to get an internship during that? 5 years is a VERY long time to trade off for that schooling. Also, with WGU it really shouldn't take you 5 years to do all that, even without experience, if you aren't working that whole time.
  • Options
    faintingheartfaintingheart Member Posts: 256
    Okay, what if it only takes 3 years to complete. Would it be worth it then?

(2 years for BS) + (1 year for MS:CIA)
  • Options
    Russ5813Russ5813 Member Posts: 123 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I think you're greatly underestimating the value of hands-on experience in an IT environment and soft skills-- two things you won't get with just a degree. That's not to say your plan won't work, but why not try to get a job or internship while going to school? It's completely doable.
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Get this question once or twice a week on various accounts, particularly on LinkedIn. Below pretty much reflects what I hear after someone puts 6 plus years of effort into getting a bachelors and masters in security and IF they can find work at all. They are dismayed at the results.