Received interview...by stretching the TRUTH...

Daneil3144Daneil3144 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
So, I have this interview coming up and I applied through indeed and as you may be aware indeed will ask questions that the employer will probably set up for interview process.

Exp:

Do you have 1 year of experience?
Yes or No?
Etc.

Anyways, one question was do you have a bachelor? I answered Yes.

Yet, it was the semi-truth. I do have a bachelor, yet it isn't in a technical field. (I start WGU this December) It was listed on my resume what I majored in. It is a locally owned business, though and I believe I meet the owner this weekend.

The title is IT Operations Manager and the expectations are pretty simple such as perform troubleshooting desktops and printers, network devices, install new software, etc..

The only thing that I have zero knowledge in is 'Office365 account management, Offfsite File Server Backups and Server Management...'

What and where can I research this information to not go in blindly? What is a good pay rate also? Have I shot myself in the foot?

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Did the question ask if you had an IT related BS or just a BS?
  • Daneil3144Daneil3144 Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
    "Do you have a bachelor?" was the question.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    That is not a semi-truth then. In regards to O365 the Microsoft Virtual Academy has a plethora of stuff for Office 365. You can easily get an overview of the platform there. There's also a ton of YouTube and Udemy courses covering this. You can google it and literally thousands of good resources will come up that will help you gain some basic understanding.

The one thing you must not do is try to BS your way through the interview. If you are just aware of some technology, say so. Never try to make stuff up.
  • BradleyHUBradleyHU Member Posts: 918 ■■■■□□□□□□