Options

Take on new job at same company? Risks?

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all. I have been a sysadmin for about 7 years after undergrad, and that's literally the only experience I have in IT full-time. I have worked for three different companies and currently find myself working for an excellent company with great benefits, good pay, etc.

I currently perform a typical large company sysadmin role -- projects, builds, decoms, maintenance, incident response, patching, etc. I am very happy where I'm at and have an incredible team and have a very decent work-life balance despite the typical 24x7 on-call rotation you'd expect from such a role.

That being said, I often wonder if I'm limiting myself by never branching out away from this one very specialized role. I am very good at my job, respected, and will likely receive a promotion to the next paygrade this upcoming year. Even though the team dynamic is great, I understand that all of this can change in an instant (new leadership, team member quitting, reorg, etc).

I was recently tapped to assume a role on a different team that would have me performing an entirely different job function. Instead of system administration work, I would be more of a SME and consultant enterprise wide for the direction of UNIX infrastructure and security in our environment. I would be the guy who learns about new technologies, networks with vendors, negotiates contracts, and researches and builds new technologies within a lab environment to test for viability into our enterprise.

This would be a promotion paygrade-wise to the next level (which I would still reach in my current role), but would take me out of the loop for any production related sysadmin work. I would no longer be on-call, and could see this improving work-life balance dramatically.