Options

ccna lab equipment

jcamilo91jcamilo91 Member Posts: 17 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this, and i have a couple of question that i am hoping people would give me their input on. I am currently building my ccna home lab. I have purchased 3 cisco 3560 switches from ebay. I found them for 40 dollars each, and they are working great. My question is, will these switches be enough? should i get another switch, like a cisco 2960? What cables do i need to get for my lab. I am planning on using Putty for configuration.

Which routers would you guys recommend, and how many in total?

Comments

• Options
    DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The 3 switches are fine, Can they do IP routing? For routers the 1800 series they are quieter then the 2800 series.
  • Options
    They should be able to do IP routing. They are level 3 switches. I just feel like i went a little overboard with the switches. I am hoping i could use them for my CCNP later on.

How about cables and GBICS?
  • Options
    DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Licensing for Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches
    The three feature sets available with all Cisco Catalyst 3650 Series Switches are:
    ● LAN Base: Enterprise access layer 2 switching features
    ● IP Base: Enterprise access layer 3 switching features
    ● IP Services: Advanced enterprise layer 3 switching (IPv4 and IPv6) features

GBIC are not necessary, 3560 are auto-sensing so Cross-over or Straight-through is fine. know you have some homework to do for the cables.
  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    if you have a model such as ws-c3560-24PS-S, the "PS" stands for poe. poe models for the 3560 only have 16 mb of flash and being version 15 of the ios is practically 16mb in size, you can't load version 15 of the ios on those switches. The "TS" models come with 32 mb of flash and you can load version 15 of the ios on them.