Options

Bored Network Engineer -> DevOps Engineer? How?

nickelitonickelito Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I am currently employed as a network engineer and have been so the past 6 years.
I am starting to feel pretty bored with just switching/routing/some security work and would like to become broader / generalist.

What skills would I need to pick up to become a DevOps engineer?
I am studying Python, Linux and Openstack on my spare time but i guess there is more to it..

What would be most important to learn? I already got the networing part down cold :)

Any advice would be appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I've recently started making a similar transition myself to more of a hybrid role myself. Python, Linux and Openstack are great starts. Puppet, Ansible, Chef etc. Public cloud offerings (AWS, Azure, GCE) are needed skills.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    Agree with what networker said:

Start with Python, Linux, and Ansible (Or Puppet, Chef, Salt, Whatever flavor you want to know) is a great start.
    Go into AWS, Azure, GCE
    Learn APIs and how they work and how your scripts can interact with them
  • Options
    nickelitonickelito Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for your input guys.
    I just find it a bit vague, coming from a cisco background where youre more or less told which books to read, you know..
    "learn linux"... "learn python".. "learn dockers"...
    I mean I could spend 2 years learning python and still not know half of whats required out of someone who "knows python"..

I found that my biggest problem is that I have a hard time seeing the bigger picture when stuyding these topics.
    When I studied for CCNA or CCNP i was dead sure what the fruit of my efforts would be..