Where do i go from here?

lmcelhinney87lmcelhinney87 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I've been working in IT for 12 years now and as a network & security engineer for probably the last 3 years. The network side of things i do enjoy but my true passion is with security. It's a hobby more than anything else but i'm not sure what route to go just now. I'm certified in VMware and Check Point and recently attended and passed my CEH. In truth, the CEH course was decent enough but a bit of a let down in some respects and having read a number of threads on here i can clearly see it's not a cert that's held with the highest regard but i see it as a foundation to build on. The trouble i'm having now is what to go for next.

I see a lot of talk about the OSCP but in truth i don't feel i'm ready and competent enough for that yet. I use Kali on a daily basis and have been attempting some CTF's on Vulnhub and working through the missions on Hack This Site in my own time and i'm enjoying learning as i go but i have next to no programming and / or scripting experience and i know that is probably what is holding me back. Powershell is becoming a bigger part of my job and i am definitely showing signs of improvement but that will only get me so far and looking at the OSCP it looks like i'd be wasting my time with the little programming experience i have.

Has anyone found themselves in a similar situation? ie coming from a networking background but keen to adapt into more of a pen-test type role? I've been looking at various other courses from the likes of CREST but i'm at a bit of a loss as to what to go for next.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    If Pentesting is what you want to do, then the OSCP is great and I think you have the necessary background for it.