Options

GIAC GCED certification vs GSEC advise

CISSPSENCISSPSEN Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am looking for some guidance on the correct GIAC course to do and perhaps someone here can give me some advice. I work as a pre-sales technical engineer doing more consultancy and sales design.

I am currently CCNP (Routing and switching), CISSP and CEH V8 certified. I had a look at the GIAC website and tried to get as much info as possible on both GSEC and GCED. The GSEC course seems to cover some of the same topics I did while doing my CCNP, CISSP and CEH especially around networking concepts, defense in depth , internet security tech and secure communications. I think it’s all too high level (LAN, WAN, TCP, IP, UDP, BCP, DRP, IDS, IPS, scanning, cryptography, steganography, SLE, ALE etc...) and maybe a repeat of what I did from the other certifications. Would this be correct? I admit Linux and some sections of windows I might not be very good at.

I am leaning towards the GCED as its a level up and has some really interesting topics like pen test, malware, packet analysis etc and the more technical the better. Also my employer is funding this and may only fund it once so I am looking to get the most of out of the budget. I really do not want to spend it on something basic and that i have covered before. $6K is not cheap

For members who have the GSEC, what sort of tools (hacking or recon) would I be using as part of the course? Also with GCED what tools will be taught as part of the course?

I am sure a lot of forum members here have already completed the course and may have had to at one stage choose between the two courses so all advise welcome.

Based on my experience and role, I am hoping you could advise me on the right course. If you need more information please ask.

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□