Options

How did you feel about the A+?

NuxNux Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been studying for the A+, but it's surprisingly the hardest for me to focus on. It's very Windows-focused and I was always more into OS X and the *nix command line. The networking stuff seems to come easier for me than the Windows-specific stuff and the internal components things. Anyone ever have to fight their way over this hurdle?

Anyway, I will study it until I get through it and over it. Wish me luck.

Comments

• Options
    G.O.A.TG.O.A.T Member Posts: 138
    I know what you mean, I started studying today, Im studying each exam individually. I prefer MacOS myself tbh and only use Windows at work. If you are looking for a study budy I'd be up for that, staying motivated is quite hard.
  • Options
    TrucidoTrucido Member Posts: 250 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Yeah ive been studying off and on for months now, the massive 1200 page books on it are sooo discouraging.
    2017 Certification Goals
    CompTIA A+ [ ] CompTIA Net+ [ ] CompTIA Sec+ [ ] CCENT [ ] ITIL [ ]
  • Options
    G.O.A.TG.O.A.T Member Posts: 138
    @Trucido Prowses exam cram is about 500 pages and covers both exams. I cant read Mike Meyers book too much fluff. GTS learning books are also good and cover the exams in two books one for 901 and one for 902
  • Options
    Mike RMike R Member Posts: 148 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The A+ is a pain. However if your new to IT it has a lot of useful information in it. I ended up just throwing on some music and grinding every day on it for a couple months. It wasn't pleasant but I don't regret doing it one bit.
  • Options
    ekoplexekoplex Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I didn't enjoy the A+, and didn't even bother reading the overkill Mike Meyers book I purchased. After passing both exams, I still felt like an amateur/novice. I moved onto something more challenging afterwards, the CCNA.
  • Options
    dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Nux wrote: »