Options

When should I start looking for a new job?

ashernatanelashernatanel Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
For contract positions, how far out from the end should I start looking for a new position or the next contract? First job in IT, I've never done this before. It's possible for the contract to be extended, but I want to plan in case I don't get an extension or a permanent offer.

Comments

• Options
    vaguemediavaguemedia Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If your current position is contract, you should never hide or remove your resume from job sites. If anyone questions why your resume is posted, just be upfront with them and explain that your role is not permanent and has a scheduled end date.
    I've only had one recruiter give me a hard way to go about my resume appearing on job sites. Nothing became of it, the client liked me because I did a good job.
  • Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You should talk with your PM about the contract cycle. Some contracts get renewed on a regular time frame while others gets renewed in spurts. Once you know what yours has a history of doing, you will know what it's likely to do. Of course, if you're the type that's easily worked up, a contract that gets extended in bits and pieces might not be your idea of a comfortable place to work.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Well ahead of the scheduled end date of the contract. I would make sure my resume was up to date on a monthly basis.
  • Options
    LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    If you are asking strangers on a message board - it's time to start looking. I've been in IT for about 9 years now and luckily always taken permanent positions, so i've never dealt with contract positions but i have friends that do.