Options

Is Help Desk my dream job?

Quench24Quench24 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
Currently have a lot of down time which I do not like. I am a Desktop Support Tech.

As a Help Desk tech I'd be constantly fielding calls/tickets right? Remote-ing into user's computers to resolve their issues?

Anyone have experience working as a Help Desk? Share your experiences please

Thanks,

Quench

Comments

• Options
    PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I worked a really busy help desk. It was organized chaos, but I loved it for some reason.
  • Options
    Can you share more? Like what were your duties?
  • Options
    Everything short of driving out and doing breakfix. Talked to a lot of mad people. Reset dozens of passwords every hour. Routed tickets to specialized teams. Lots of callbacks. Tons of documentation. And a whole lot of being polite to extremely rude people.
  • Options
  • Options
    xxxkaliboyxxxxxxkaliboyxxx Member Posts: 466
    Helpdesk worker here. I work for a specific DoD agency. Day in and day out I get blamed, yelled, rant, vent, and every once in a while I get the very nice customer. For whatever reason, our small little helpdesk is the fault of anything IT or even electronic related. New DoD approved iPhone isn't easy to setup their work email, our fault. VPN server went down because network guys doing maintenance, our fault. Got locked out because they input the wrong pin 3 times, our fault. Microwave won't heat up hotpocket fast enough, our fault.
    Just be ready to receive the blunt of the blame for everything, you are the first line they call even before they do their own troubleshooting steps like reboot. With that said, having a good postive attitude and realizing and ensuring the customer you are there to help and not just dispatch their problem will calm even the worst of customers.
    I touch on lots of techology to include citrix, bomgar, AD, NetApp, Cisco CM, BES servers, XenMobile, SCCM, ETC.