Average time for CCNP R&S

adrianm68adrianm68 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Is there any data out there from Cisco or other which gives the average time it takes for a student to go from CCNA to CCNP certification?

Adrian
2017 Goals: Cisco: [x]Switch [ ]Route [ ]Tshoot

Cisco engineer's command to teach his dog to sit: "no stand"

Comments

• negru_tudornegru_tudor Member Posts: 473 ■■■□□□□□□□
    adrianm68 wrote: »
    Hi,

Is there any data out there from Cisco or other which gives the average time it takes for a student to go from CCNA to CCNP certification?

Adrian

Well CCNA took me quite some time (about 1 year give or take a few months) then worked hands-on with real gear for a long time (not only Cisco's). I'm now studying for CCNP Switch for nearly 2 months now and have a feeling that I might sit the exam sometime in February. Then onto Route and Tshoot. Based on how the material is structured and my experience (I don't really do that much Cisco all day long but on occasion I really use their gear for VoIP deployments, branch sites etc) I might have things wrapped up somewhere around September 2017 (that is if I don't fail any exam too many times).

So, about 1 year for CCNA (IF you're fresh in the IT field) and anywhere between 6 months to +1 year for the CCNP. That's based on what I've seen other people who I know literally studied things and didn't just **** the exams.
    2017-2018 goals:
    [X] CIPTV2 300-075
    [ ] SIP School SSCA
    [X] CCNP Switch 300-115 [X] CCNP Route 300-101 [X] CCNP Tshoot 300-135
    [ ] LPIC1-101 [ ] LPIC1-102 (wishful thinking)
  • brewboybrewboy Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Not sure if there's data out there but t took me about 6 months for route, 6 for switch and 2 or 3 for tshoot. I was mostly working on switches at the time and very little routing, plus I am a sloooow learner (constantly re-reading and re-labbing) so you can probably do it quicker.
  • hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□