Options

Questions regarding working remotely in another state- Any input appreciated!!

ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178
The current situation:

I currently work as a Systems Engineer for my company and work remotely from home every day, as the traffic to the office is a nightmare, and space is really short at the location itself. I don't have express permission by management to do this, however since my supervisor was transferred and not replaced, the manager who oversees our group has not brought it up as an issue.

So my group is being transitioned to a different team that is more Cloud / Data Center Infrastructure based for the MSP I work for, and the role for all the employees of the group is 100% remote, don't even think about the office if you don't want to. So, that is absolutely fantastic for the what my initial thought below was.

My ambitions / goals:

The company knows I am a good worker and I learn / certify / work late / get stuff done, and I am fairly high on this cloud infrastructure totem pole group, so there is incentive to keep me. At the same time, I've come to a point where I would like to move out of state while I have a 100% remote job, as I can drive anywhere with a proof of income to any state to immediately get housing / electricity / internet hooked up like as soon as I drive into town.

The problem:

As soon as I heard 100% remote I thought work from Italy if you want, however upon research, it sounds like there is a lot of red tape taxes / workers laws that 'burden' the employer in a lot of cases to bend to the employees residing states tax laws.

Is this something I can casually run by HR, something I should run by a supervisor, and even then when to really ask how remote they really mean I can work? I work for an MSP that has a presence in a lot of states but none in the Colorado other than they have customers there, but not employees that I am aware of.

To Summarize: