Options

What qualifications do you need to jump into a Junior Systems Admin position?

TheNullVoidTheNullVoid Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
A little bit of a background regarding me:

-I have a job as a conference set up person/shipping assistant contractor at a Federal agency. I deal with the public on a daily basis.

-I have Aspergers syndrome.

-I have a useless Associate of Arts from a Community College. I'm willing to pursue a Bachelors in IT if needed to become a Junior Systems Admin.

-I have no experience in IT, but im very interested in the field.<

-I am working on my A+. I just passed the 901 a week ago(it was really easy). Next, I plan to pass the 902 in Jan/early Feb.<

-I don't expect to get any job after my A+. I assume anyone can pass both the 901 and 902. I am of below average intelligence and found the 901 test to be very easy.

-I want to get my MCSA after this. Is it possible to pass all three of the Microsoft test with no experience?

As mentioned before, I have a below average intellect. However, I LOVE learning about technology. Can decent social skills(somehow I have a decent social skills for an aspie as my job requires it), a good work ethic, and a passion for tech compensate for a less than average intellect? Basically, It takes me longer to learn concepts. I'm worried about my slow learning speed given the rate and which technology changes. Also, I am worried I sound very un-educated given my poor use of grammar/the English language. IT is a professional job. If one sounds un-educated, how will they thrive in the field?

As an aspiring Junior Systems Admin, what advice can you guys give me? Should I go to WGU? Should I work the MCSA next?Also, does WGU help you improve sentence structure/grammar. My useless AA did not.Should I give up on my dreams of becoming a Junior Systems Admin because I'm potentially too stupid to become one?

Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□