Options

I always hear about great salaries, am I underpaid?

BlazinkewpBlazinkewp Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I know this question is always asked and there's often too many variables to accurately answer this, but I honestly can't figure out if I've got a great thing going for me or if I'm missing out on a lot more money.

Short background: I have bachelors and masters degrees in computer information systems. I have been a unix engineer for the past 8 years for multi billion dollar companies and am currently senior level and about to be promoted to more of a subject matter expert for unix type of role for the organization.

I currently make a little under 76K and live in Syracuse, NY. The new promotion might be as low as a 5% increase but would take me off on-call.

Cost of living here is pretty low despite high taxes. I have a few certifications and get to go to 2-3 training classes per year and have outstanding benefits. I sometimes have to do after hours work but typically work about a 40 hour week.

I'm consistently a high performer and am very good at my job and considered an expert with RHEL, AIX and OS security.

Currently, I have no reason to fear layoffs or anything like that. I regularly receive a 3-3.5% raise and tiny bonus with a boatload of sick and vacation time. I enjoy work and my coworkers.

All of that being said, all of the salary sites say the median person in my role in my area is over 90K. Am I underpaid? What can I do?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Options
    gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    That's a very small city with a lack of opportunities. I say you have to be willing to move in order to get paid okay.
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    You could definitely be making more with the right company. If you're in a small market look for remote gigs. If you're good on the unix side look into devops. Lots of flexibility in that space right now it seems.