Options

Certifications for Federal Law Enforcement

emcconnellemcconnell Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Tech Exams,

I was wondering if anyone had experience working in or with law enforcement, specifically at a federal level. I want to work towards a job as a 1811 criminal investigative in cyber crimes.

What certifications are law enforcement agencies looking for?
What events or contest (CTF?) would put me on the radar to be recruited?
Are FLE agencies more interested in forensics, security, pentesting, networking?
What kind of work skills would be important to demonstrate?
Does anyone here work for FBI, DEA, ATF, USMS, USSS, DSS? CIA or NSA?

My background: I have a M.S. in Computer Science and have worked professionally as a programmer my entire career. I have a CEH and will test to get a Security+ very soon. I was planning on studying for an OSCP next year. In 2015, I interviewed to be a FBI Special Agent - Cyber, flew through the testing with ease and got a conditional job offer from the DoJ only to fail the polygraph before going to Quantico (polygraphs are another conversation). I am confident I can pass any future polygraphs to obtain TSC/SC.

Thank You

Comments

• Options
    TechGromitTechGromit Member Posts: 2,156 ■■■■■■■■■□
    For Federal Government related jobs, I would make sure you meet the DoD Directive 8570 requirements for cyber security related positions.

https://certification.comptia.org/why-certify/government
    Still searching for the corner in a round room.
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■