Options

Continuing Education Direction Help

Thoth_DhwtyThoth_Dhwty Member Posts: 96 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I am new here, my name's Lorand and came across this forum while googling my heart out for the right direction to take with studying.

I currently passed the CompTia A+ and am looking at studying for more during 2017.
I am currently unemployed and I have little job experience into computing. Mostly my experience and knowledge came from my own desire and need to know more about computers. It's a field I always felt attracted to as a child growing up. I passed the A+ after two months of study and practice on my own computer. Some things I knew about and some were new to me but I really liked learning and reading about all that stuff.

Now I'm on a break as family came over for Christmas holidays, but after New Year I plan on starting to study for another certificate. I have the whole year of 2017 to study and pursue new certificates as I am not going to work and will be home most of this time.

I am looking at Network+ and Security+ to take next but I am stuck as in what to follow eventually after.
I was taking a look towards Cisco and CWNP but I can't make up my mind. Some people advice towards Cisco as it is more recognised, while others I see prefer CWNP as Cisco is being vendor specific.

I am more inclined towards security, but I understand security will work better with networking together.
What would you advice considering all the study and experience will come from home and not from the field?

Thanks a lot,
-L

Comments

• Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    Hi and welcome to TE. In your situation obtaining a IT degree would help you immensely and if you go through WGU (a lot of forum members are graduates/attending), it has a degree program that sounds right up your alley:

Online IT Security Degree | Information Security Degree | WGU College of Information Technology