Options

Masters Degree, Certifications, and Beyond

sensitivestoicsensitivestoic Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Greetings everyone and Happy New Year. As I look towards 2017 I would greatly appreciate insight and advice from this community as to how I can best professionally advance myself in the field of IT.

Two primary questions:
  • What are the best pathways if I am aiming for IT Project Management, Sys Admin, or becoming an IT professor?
  • What are suggestions for campus-based Master’s Programs that are focused on technical management, entrepreneurship, or system administration?

Currently I hold a bachelor’s degree in psychology and philosophy; CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+ certifications, 6 years in the field of IT, and am employed as a Senior IT Manager for a biometrics company making roughly $50K annually.
What I am not looking for: Computer Science or programs focused on programming and mathematics. Ideally I prefer positions that are not enterprise related and would rather seek to use technology to help or teach others- either in an academic or non-for profit capacity.

For example here are some Masters degrees I was considering:
IT Management and Entrepreneurship
IT Systems Administration

Otherwise I was looking at MCSE Server focus and PMP for certifications to pursue.
Thoughts on higher education vs. certs and how best to pursue these goals and trajectories?

Many thanks and all the best in the new year!
Certs Achieved: CompTIA A+ | Net+ | Sec+ | Project+ | MCSA Windows 10
Currently Studying:
  MCSE Server 2016
Future Goals: CAPM/PMP

Comments

• Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□