Options

Jump from Infrastructure Management down to Security Engineer/Analyst

MideMide Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
So has anybody else here made it through the ranks of IT into management just to want to go back down to an engineer role? Here's the scoop of my situation

17years in IT starting from desktop all the way up through sys admin to infrastructure management (VMware, Servers, Backups, SAN, NAS, Exchange, COOP, 15 direct reports). Got MS in MIS, and MBA from state schools. I work for a mid-sized company but don't get paid much more than I did as a sys admin. Lots of responsibilities of management (reporting, proj mgmt, personnel, meetings) but I still have to keep up with the race of all the technologies that are under my umbrella (can't relax because I'm still a working manager).

Since there is no budget for an IT security dept, that responsibility has fallen to me so over the past few years I've had to do more on the security end from reporting, documentation, audits, remediations, etc. I'd have to say that it's more fun to work in a concentrated task as I do for the security end vs. having to multitask like crazy like I'm currently doing in my role.

I've noticed that, at least where I'm at, IT security positions pay better than sys admin/my own mgmt position and I'm pondering the pros and cons of jumping out of management to a security role.

Pros
Same amount of $ for a more concentrated work focus
Get to learn and develop in another IT area
All certs in 1 IT security bubble vs right now...VCP, MCSE, etc for infrastructure.

Cons
No longer in management (It does have certain perks)
It would be going reverse from what my whole career-education has been focused towards since the beginning.

Comments

• Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□