Options

Switch is on no shutdown but is not providing IP addresses

redgunnerredgunner Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I have a router connected to a switch and below is my switch configuration

FastEthernet 0/1 lights up and can see the router, I have setup a DHCP scope but the problem is when I connect a patch cable to the switch on for example FastEthernet 0/2 it does not light up and shows as Administratively Up but don't understand why it won't come on. Thank you for your help in advance.


Current configuration : 4157 bytes

!
version 12.2
no service pad
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname S1
!
no logging console
!
no aaa new-model
no ip subnet-zero
no ip domain-lookup
!
!
!
crypto pki trustpoint TP-self-signed-876097280
enrollment selfsigned
subject-name cn=IOS-Self-Signed-Certificate-876097280
revocation-check none
rsakeypair TP-self-signed-876097280
!
!
crypto pki certificate chain TP-self-signed-876097280
certificate self-signed 01
30820239 308201A2 A0030201 02020101 300D0609 2A864886 F70D0101 04050030
30312E30 2C060355 04031325 494F532D 53656C66 2D536967 6E65642D 43657274
69666963 6174652D 38373630 39373238 30301E17 0D393330 33303130 30303130
365A170D 32303031 30313030 30303030 5A303031 2E302C06 03550403 1325494F
532D5365 6C662D53 69676E65 642D4365 72746966 69636174 652D3837 36303937
32383030 819F300D 06092A86 4886F70D 01010105 0003818D 00308189 02818100
C9A8848E 1ECE530E F872FBB3 5558F1CE 5BCE8297 855FD435 C7CD8D8F B9B806C0
D28DE0B4 8B840CFB 5FC63763 4BDFEEAC 32866FE4 354BE846 878EE4A3 883A80F1
0923678E E2FB056B 91F51888 0A275B46 E9BB91F3 7319A90C F0F197DF 726625DD
7E73556A 7BE981AA CAFCD6AA F97593A0 CC236342 D34303C6 FE54427A C5CCFA89
02030100 01A36330 61300F06 03551D13 0101FF04 05300301 01FF300E 0603551D
11040730 05820353 312E301F 0603551D 23041830 1680144B 837AB215 69329EF2
FB5BA518 0DE7F48E 094BB930 1D060355 1D0E0416 04144B83 7AB21569 329EF2FB
5BA5180D E7F48E09 4BB9300D 06092A86 4886F70D 01010405 00038181 00B9235D
33E50520 57D9528E 03AB0364 9175FA06 448A0F37 6967B9B4 76E5F6E1 8ABF2B91
6D9AAA28 9A478E4A 0C329ACA F5A1E851 97D4BCCA 06C7C131 182D24EE 46B9BE2E
120245AD 89F53191 0509E27D 5B6CFCBE C3F24136 D4E57DD6 60E51BDD 9C217C13
2DEA078C 50584A11 51519F18 A8277D0B C9C11774 78C34B4A E568E53D 55
quit
!
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/2
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/3
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/4
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/5
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/6
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/7
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/8
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/9
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/10
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/11
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/12
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/13
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/14
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/15
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/16
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/17
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/18
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/19
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/20
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/21
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/22
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/23
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface FastEthernet0/24
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
switchport mode dynamic desirable
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/2
switchport mode dynamic desirable
!
interface Vlan1
no ip address
shutdown
!
ip default-gateway 192.168.1.1
ip classless
ip http server
ip http secure-server
!
!
control-plane
!
!
line con 0
line vty 0 4
password mw
login
line vty 5 15
no login
!
end


Below is my Router Config

Current configuration : 820 bytes
!
version 12.4
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
no logging console
!
no aaa new-model
ip cef
!
!
no ip dhcp use vrf connected
ip dhcp excluded-address 192.168.1.1
!
ip dhcp pool dhcp
network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
default-router 192.168.1.1
dns-server 192.168.1.1
!
!
no ip domain lookup
!
!
!
!
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
no ip address
shutdown
duplex auto
speed auto
!
ip forward-protocol nd
!
!
ip http server
no ip http secure-server
!
!
!
!
control-plane
!
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
password mw
login
line vty 5 15
no login
!
scheduler allocate 20000 1000
end

Comments

  • Options
    dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Is this physical equipment or packet tracer?
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If you're using physical equipment, are you using a straight or crossover cable? Also, are you plugging into port f0/0 or f0/1 into the router? You said you're plugging into f0/1, but it's actually f0/0 that's configured with the 192 subnet.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    yparkypark Member Posts: 120 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Show commands will be more useful here. Are Fa0/0 on R1 and Fa0/1 on S1 both up and up? Is the host connected to Fa0/2 on S1 configured for DHCP? What does ipconfig/ifconfig look like? Can you ping the gateway (192.168.1.1) from S1?
    2022 Goals: [PCNSE] [JNCIS-SP] [JNCIS-SEC] [JNCIS-DevOps]
  • Options
    redgunnerredgunner Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am using physical equipment - I can plug the cable from R1 to S1 on any port (0-24) and it will work but when I connect it to a Desktop PC for example (I have tried 3 Desktop PCs and Laptop) nothing lights up?
  • Options
    rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
    redgunner wrote: »
    I am using physical equipment - I can plug the cable from R1 to S1 on any port (0-24) and it will work but when I connect it to a Desktop PC for example (I have tried 3 Desktop PCs and Laptop) nothing lights up?

    When you say "...but when I connect it to a Desktop PC for example..." what are you connecting, the Switch or the Router?
    No longer an active member
  • Options
    MagmadragoonMagmadragoon Member Posts: 172 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Do you have any port security on that switchport?
  • Options
    MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    redgunner wrote: »
    I am using physical equipment - I can plug the cable from R1 to S1 on any port (0-24) and it will work but when I connect it to a Desktop PC for example (I have tried 3 Desktop PCs and Laptop) nothing lights up?
    Do you mean you're plugging into the switch or port f0/1 to the router?
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • Options
    rolando3321rolando3321 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Did you ever figure this out?

    As other have mentioned: are you plugging you pc into your switch or into the router?
    What cable are you using? a straight or cross-over?
    Is your pc configured for dhcp? or is it static

    I want to say more but most of my suggestions have been made by others. I would try connecting your desktop directly into the router's fa0/0 with a crossover cable and see if you can get that to work. If you do then you know it is something with the switch.
Sign In or Register to comment.