Options

RHCA worth going for compared to RHCE for employers?

RHELRHEL Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all.

Here's the situation... I'll likely be looking to relocate to somewhere warmer in the next 2-3 years. My organization has dramatically made the decision that our infrastructure environment will be primarily Red Hat (including current Windows servers).

I'm a senior UNIX engineer and the most knowledgeable with Linux on our team of 8. We've recently been blessed with insane amounts of training opportunities.

We've taken the RHCSA rapid track and Virtualization courses in house over the past month, with promises of 2-3 on-site courses this year. Additionally, each of us has been given access to the Red Hat Learning Subcription (unlimited online classes) and told to go for certs if we feel like it.

So, I absolutely plan to get the RHCSA and RHCE exams. Perhaps even the RHCVA as I'll be building our RHEV environment; however, is there really any benefit going for RHCA (architect)? It will require 5 exams beyond RHCE.

From my point of view, it sounds impressive to have but really isn't super feasible outside of working for Red Hat or Rackspace. Would potential employers in the future even know what it is or care?

Asking because it'd be a significant time dedication on my part as well as a lot of money my company would have to fork up for exams and travel to take exams.

What do you think? Is RHCE sufficient given my circumstances?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722