Options

Passed 70-410 Today...Much More Difficult Than Practice Exams

gphalpingphalpin Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I passed the 70-410 exam today. It was much tougher than the Sybex practice exams that go with William Panek's Study Guide. I scored in the 90s on most chapter exams and practice test. While I thought the book was good, there were some items on the exam that were not covered in the book.

Just to give you some background, I earned an MCSA way back in 2002 and have been a Sys Admin\Security Analyst since about 2003. I know AD and group policy inside and out. I read Panek's book cover to cover and watched the Lynda.com Windows Sys Admin video series to catch up on anything I haven't worked with. I thought I was going to breeze through the exam. I quickly realized it was more difficult than expected.

A big challenge for me was that we don't use Microsoft virtualization where I work and I have zero experience with it. I've been administering VMware environments for about 8 years and am very familiar with that. When it comes to networking, I have a CIDR table taped above my monitor and have forgotten how to count binary in the IPV4 octets and figure out the right subnet masks. So those two areas were tough for me.

Not sure if I'm going to proceed with tests 411 and 412. I'd like to get the full MCSA again. But we use a lot of non-Microsoft products for storage, DNS, IPAM, and network security, etc where I work. So I'd have to study for a lot of things I wouldn't use. I took the exam mostly to meet one of my goals at work to get training and prove proficiency on 2012-R2. But I'm glad I did it. I've been putting the PMP exam on the back burner this past year. That's a goal of mine for 2017.

Comments

• Options
    AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□