Options

Career Advice, networking/cloud

CE1028CE1028 Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

It's a new year (happy and successful one to you all). I haven't done much of any studying since last year icon_lol.gif. Corny jokes aside, I really have not done much learning in a few months. I'm not lazy, just trying to reevaluate things and see what to do. I have been with my current employer for awhile, holding a number of positions. I'm a network engineer, but the company is on the small side, so I don't see all the things that other network engineers on this site probably see. I also handle VMware (again), as the guy who was doing it screwed up big time, and since I'm the only one who knew it, they decided to hand it back to me. I didn't mind that though, as I was the one who set it up from the start. I feel though that it's time to move on. I'm not learning much of anything at work anymore, or getting exposed to anything interesting. Other than that, company is cool, and I make a good salary (100k)

That being said, I decided to start looking. I've interviewed for some network positions, and so far been offered 2. I turned them down, because they both required travel (domestic and/or international). Don't get me wrong, I love networking. I'm just at the point where I have no interest in traveling. Local travel, I'm okay with, but leaving my wife/kids for days or a week, or more, just doesn't interest me. Especially, international. I looked at other networking jobs in hospitals and universities, but they don't pay.