Options

Information Technology, Systems, Management, or Science Degrees?

sensitivestoicsensitivestoic Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
Quick background: I have two bachelors of art degrees in psychology and philosophy and am looking to transfer my career into the field of Information Technology. I've been working professionally in IT for quite a few years and am attempting to take the next step into an IT related Master's Degree. My background is not in programming and doesn't align with a typical Computer Science/Engineering (mathematics focused) degree. As a result I've been researching Systems or Management related degrees.

Question: Every graduate school seems to name their IT degree in a different format: Informatics, Information Technology, Information Systems, Information Management, Information Science, etc...

What is the best way to compare- what seems like apples to oranges- graduate schools and understand how it affects your future career? Is course syllabi the only way? Any resources or advice is greatly appreciated!
Certs Achieved: CompTIA A+ | Net+ | Sec+ | Project+ | MCSA Windows 10
Currently Studying:
  MCSE Server 2016
Future Goals: CAPM/PMP

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Need to look at the course syllabus and see what courses are offered. Depending on the school, some might have better courses than others or focus more on certain topics of IT.
  • Options
    sensitivestoicsensitivestoic Member Posts: 77 ■■■□□□□□□□
    TheFORCE wrote: »
    Need to look at the course syllabus and see what courses are offered. Depending on the school, some might have better courses than others or focus more on certain topics of IT.