Options

Recent Grad Next Steps

CoreysDadCoreysDad Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

First off I am new to the site joined yesterday so hello everyone.

Second off I recently graduated from Community College with degree in Information Technology (generalized). I took a Linux course, Networking courses, A security Course, and one Server and desktop client course. Although I have dabbed my hands into various areas of IT course work I done not feel specialized or in depth know how in any particular area. My plan is to move out of the billing department of my company and hopefully transfer to their IT department (its a huge company). Although I have no working experience I try to solve all computer issues in my department before a help desk ticket is submitted. These tasks are beyond simple but just some kind of experience is better than none right? To supplement that I plan to obtain some certifications such as A+ and Net+ to start.

Really looking to obtain something entry level but I can lie but most entry level positions I've seen listed require 2 to 3 yrs exp and knowledge of things I eight haven't used or have very little exp and I do not feel qualified for.

Any advice is much appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hi CoreysDad,
    This one is a little tough because you have the HR barrier of needing some on-the-resume IT experience before they'll consider you. Yes, some certs could help. You also have the advantage of being familiar with the company, some of the software it uses, and its corporate culture.

I'd suggest making friends with people in the IT department. Try to share lunch time together and find something in common to the point where they get to know your face, name, and personality. Take your time about doing this.