Safe to assume CertMaster alone won't help me pass?

RewireRewire Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all.

I've just finished my CompTIA A+ Cert and am now looking at Security+. I've already bought the Certmaster + Voucher + Retake and after a bit further investigation I'm seeing that it may not be enough. I have a background in IT but like an idiot I went to college for a passion and not a job, so I have a worthless degree. I do have close to 20 years of practical experience using computers which made the A+ easy, but after doing some of the certmaster for Security+ I'm barely getting 20-30% of the questions right.

Basically, I'm wondering if focusing all my time on trying to ace all the CertMaster stuff won't help? Has anyone ever used just the certmaster and passed? Is there some specific areas I should be focusing on? I do absorb information very quickly in hands on usage, after doing something 2-3 times I can do it reliably without help for at least 2 years without practical application.

I'm trying to take the exam by the 15th.

I'm not looking to spend a ton of money on more study material, but if it's worth it, I will by all means provided the price is right.

Thanks for your help!

Comments

• averageguy72averageguy72 Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The CertMaster doesn't line up really well with the actual test. IMO, the information is good to know but it isn't indicative of the question type on the test. Darril Gibson's website is great ($30 or $40, if i remember right). TotalSeminars, to me, was close in terms of wording/grammar. You can get a TotalSem CD with this book - CompTIA Security+ Certification Practice Exams, Second Edition ($25).