Options

Not sure what to do career wise

zdxzdx Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been doing helpdesk/desktop support for about 6 years. I'm sort of the jack of all trades but I'd like to narrow down to networking. I have no certs and no degrees and im 25 years old. I don't want to go to college but if its highly suggested I'll go. At this point I don't want to do helpdesk/desktop support anymore and I'm on a salary of 35k with a on call work schedule. What should I do?

Comments

• Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    If you don't want to go to college then start getting certified.

You want to go into networking then start looking into the CCENT and go get certified in it. Then the CCNA. Then get a job doing work with that certification. From there go for CCNP. etc etc.

Certifications and a degree show you that you are dedicated to a task to completion.
    Certifications it is a specific material you are showing you want to specialize in.
    Degree is a dedication of time and resources for higher educational learning as a whole.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd start with the CCNA and then see what happens. It's respected and can definitely help you get a entry-level role in networking.
  • Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    lol after reading this... I wonder in what did you based this post:
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/91717-advice-degrees-certs.html#post770200
    Several years ago.

Buddy you know what you need to do. Get some books, get a lab and get certified. You wrote a post about this years ago.
    meh
  • Options
    mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□