Options

How to negotiate a pay increase before I get hired?

SkylinksSkylinks Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just took an interview today, and they asked me how much am I looking to make. I said $55,000 annually. They said that they can offer that much. Then they had me fill out a skills assessment and they said that they will be in touch. They called me just a few hours later asking if I could come in tomorrow for a second interview, and I said yes.

Now am I selling myself too short here? I know I am not at the senior level, but I don't want to work for peanuts. I don't any any experience with databases, Sharepoint, or Citrix. I have limited experience with Exchange, VMware, Cisco IOS, and VoiP.

To give some context, I live in Southern California (so needless to say it's expensive here). I have a bachelors of science in CIS with about eight years in systems administration and over 15 years in IT. I don't have any current certs (they all expired). The company I interviewed with is an MSP with about 200 clients and about 50 employees.

Comments

• Options
    LittleBITLittleBIT Member Posts: 320 ■■■■□□□□□□
    From working with MSPs, you can expect to get lowballed. Just from personal experience. Also, no current certs may also be a factor. Depends how important it is to that MSP. Thats about right for a sysadmin, even here in the east coast. What you can think about to leverage a better paycheck is talk about topics that they could be weak in that you could fill. Are they moving clients to virtualization? Is every client backing up locally/offsite? Is the MSP lacking in the RMM department? Are projects moving like crap?