Options

How do people here get contracting gigs?

Hey Everyone,

Just out of curiosity how do people here get contracting gigs? I am interested in starting in the world of short-long term contracting once my upcoming gig has been finished.

I managed to get my upcoming contract by….

Looking at a job website

There was a recruitment agency looking for a resource.

Applied for it.

Had a couple of interviews and boom !

Got hired.
live, learn, grow, fail, rebuild and repeat until your heartbeat stops !

Comments

• Options
    UncleBUncleB Member Posts: 417
    I've been doing the contracting gig for over 20 years now - it is nice and simple:

- Find a contract job advertised that looks interesting.
    - Apply for it (so long as it is in your area of expertise).
    - Interview and impress the hiring manager.
    - Start work, show the lifers how it should be done and rake in the cash.
    - Move on at the end of contract, when you get bored or when something more interesting comes along.

It does often prevent you from getting permanent roles as the hiring managers are often suspicious that you will move on when something better arises, but don't let that put you off.

As you move up there can be times when you spend sizeable amounts of time between contracts, but use that time to brush up on certs and take a well earned holiday.

Sure you don't get sick pay, holiday pay, pension or training, but you are probably earning twice what the lifers are earning so it doesn't matter.

After a while you can take a longer break (I took 3 years off to travel at one point) and it won't break the bank, and at the end you slip straight back into contracting.

Make sure you have plenty of cash reserves as soon as possible as there is always a chance the unexpected could happen, but with a sharp accountant you can use all sorts of tax provisions to keep your hard earned money.

In this world of insecurity and zero hours contracts, it is the way to go!
  • Options