Options

Help me with a business idea

DojiscalperDojiscalper Member Posts: 266 ■■■□□□□□□□
Okay first off this could get long, I'm just gonna start typing.

I have over 20 yrs of experience in IT. Very broad knowledge MSP type of jobs throughout that time as well as lots of service department operations experience from being in big and small shops. With that comes excellent customer service skills and
I'm at the top of my game at every position, the GOTO guy, the guy winning all the awards, getting the bonuses, etc. Not saying
I'm the best there is, just spelling out that I do have what it takes on the technical and customer service sides of the business.

My wife and I have been working towards getting ourselves into a position where we have minimal debt and costs of living and
we're about to make a move into a new town with much lower cost of living and put us in a great position to try risky things such
as career changes without losing a quality of life.

I have all the skills to operate a small business from all sides, the key thing I really lack is great sales skills, I'm pretty pathetic in that area however eager to jump in the fire and learn.

So starting out my little IT business will have to take clients from anywhere I can get them. I'd love to say I'm going to only take high paying consulting jobs or big MSP contracts etc, but I don't have the connections, don't have the money and will
have to start at the bottom and get my hands dirty, possibly for many years, but that will be okay because I have no financial
risk.

I've had other businesses not IT related in the past, but the risk was to great and I had to give them up. I did learn a lot about business and a lot about myself.

I'll likely be doing any type of desktop work I can get, trying to get contracts where I can from very small office clients.
Printers, I do know the printer repair business extremely well and have managed those types of operations in my past
Network install, repair, contracts