Options

Need input... from current CISSP's

holysheetmanholysheetman Member Posts: 113 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ok, here's the deal... I'm preparing for the CISSP... how long will it take me... well, I was hoping to ask you guys. ISC2 says typically spend 1 month per domain (which there are 10) and I have seen where it has taken most up to 6 months. I am active duty AF and have had the last 2 years dealing with securing workstations, installing PKI CAC readers, hardening our network, upgrading etc... I'm stationed overseas and it was recommended I should go for the top cert and so I saw an interest in the CISSP.

I already have Sec+ and just recently passed the CEH (which was rather difficult to me; 125 questions) - those are the only two certs security related I have plus 5 years proven experience as a network administrator.

The question is this... given my experience, how long do you think it will take me to schedule an exam? (I need to let my higher-ups know a figure) and should I concentrate only on the CISSP OR filter in some of which I was currently studying for (windows xp 70-270) ?

Thanks in advance for your input!

Phil

Comments

• Options
    keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Ok, here's the deal... I'm preparing for the CISSP... how long will it take me... well, I was hoping to ask you guys. ISC2 says typically spend 1 month per domain (which there are 10) and I have seen where it has taken most up to 6 months. I am active duty AF and have had the last 2 years dealing with securing workstations, installing PKI CAC readers, hardening our network, upgrading etc... I'm stationed overseas and it was recommended I should go for the top cert and so I saw an interest in the CISSP.

I already have Sec+ and just recently passed the CEH (which was rather difficult to me; 125 questions) - those are the only two certs security related I have plus 5 years proven experience as a network administrator.