Passed CEH 2/21/2017 - ProctorU

eatthemuffineatthemuffin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
As always a great thanks to the TE community for sharing their experience and advice. My only study resources were:

CEH Certified Ethical Hacker All-in-One Exam Guide, Third Edition, 3rd Edition
CEH Certified Ethical Hacker Practice Exams, Third Edition, 3rd Edition

I studied off and on for the last 3-4 weeks. I was not consistent but I did eventually read all of the AIO from front to back. I used the 60 question practice exam in the appendix to see where I was overall and did only the chapter practice exam for what I needed some help with.

Even with only those few resources I feel like I overstudied. Although the only hands on knowledge I had was with Wireshark, I did not actually install or use any of the tools in the book (nmap, hping, etc). However I was familiar with the purpose of those tools and other tools as well though nmap seemed to be all EC-Council dreamed of.

Essentially I think my advice for CEH is the same for CISSP. If you can wake up and pass Security + with absolutely zero preparation anytime anywhere then you basically know all you need to know. The rest is common IT sense. If you already have a good grasp of security and networking concepts then you're good. Don't worry. The test itself did have a few poorly worded questions but what shocked me the most was the numerous of grammatical and spelling errors. In some cases the grammar made me doubt what the true answer was supposed to be. There seemed to be no quality checking of a lot of their Q/A.

My motivation for the test was only because it was a DoD requirement for me to obtain it. It will be a nice resume check though.

ProctorU