Options

Password hashes question

GeekyChickGeekyChick Member Posts: 323 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm studying for the Sec+ and I have a question about the way password hashes are used. So, the way I understand it is that your password is stored as a hash on a server and when you type in your password it's converted to a hash and compared to the hash that is stored. I know they also have rainbow tables that show what original passwords were given a hash. My question is why can't someone just intercept or get your hash and use it to login to a site, say Amazon for example? Why is the actual password needed when that's not even what is stored? Are hashes not really used? What am I missing?

Comments

• Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I think the only part you're missing is using a Salt. With regular password hashing, you are exactly right... it's "fairly" easy to work out the original password if you have the username and the hashed version of the password. Problem is that rainbow tables get VERY large, and a large amount of processing power is required. If you're using a salt, then you are provided a random "key" that is used in conjunction with the hashed password. However, every time a better way is created to protect the password, there are thousands of unethical people doing whatever they can to break it.

To answer your question about people using the hash to break into an online account, it depends on how you're posing the question. If someone uses the same username and password on multiple sites, then yes, getting their account info from one spot makes it simpler to break in elsewhere. However, to grab the username and hash directly FROM the Amazon site, then you have to crack the SSL/TLS session that Amazon uses to communicate with the end user. Of course, there are ways to do that too.

I hope that gives you a better understanding.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University