Options

Next Certification Advice?

Hi everyone,

So I have my degree in Computer Science and the certs listed under my user, but I am now wondering what I can do next. The end goal is to get into security but I hear cloud is very hot these days too. I don't have any security experience so I can't really take the CISSP (I don't want to be an associate yet, I'd rather wait till I can take the full exam after 5 years of experience). Is there any certification you can recommend I take? I will have quite a lot of free time in the summer and would like to knock out a cert or 2 if possible depending on the difficulty of the certification. I know this question is very broad but I am wondering what cert I can take next to help me get into the security field / be marketable with a useful IT skillset.

Cheers guys.
icon_cool.gif

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What part of security? Security project management is very different from penetration testing which is very different from compliance.
  • Options
    Justin-Justin- Member Posts: 300
    Pentesting. Thanks for the reply.
  • Options
    DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Justin -

For the sake of being transparent I work in IT, not security or cloud. However, I did a study recently looking at a whole host of security jobs and if they required or preferred a degree and what certifications did they either prefer or require.

As you could imagine CISSP came out number 1, @ ~45% of all security jobs (~6000 jobs I believe) either requiring or preferring the CISSP. Number 2 of most of the jobs was the C|EH @ ~15% (significantly lower) but still the number 2 certification requested in the job boards.

Based off of these numbers I would consider getting the C|EH if you wanted to land a security job (assuming the CISSP wasn't an option).