Options

Can someone please help me in understanding this?

JipinJipin Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for my CCNA certification and am trying to figure out IPV6
The textbook i'm using has a lab for the manual and stateful autoconfiguration and has a diagram where there are 5 routers (a to e). Routers A and B are connected to one interface Fa0/0 on router C and routers D and E are connected to another interface fa0/1 on router C. I want to know is it really possible for multiple routers to be connected to the same interface on a different router? If yes, how? I'm using CISCO packet tracer and it really isn't letting me do this.
Can someone please help me out here?

Comments

• Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    if there is an implied switch in between the routers, then lots of routers could be attached together.

But, why would you want to have 3 routers connected to the same network. That is a bit over redundant.

Being your dealing with a diagram related to dhcp, I'd guess some of those should be switches and endpoints.
  • Options
    Here is the diagram that I have. open?id=0B4qUGN0I5xcCZ1RfS1RlejdaYms

Can you please tell me how am I supposed to go about creating a network similar to that on packet tracer?
  • Options
    rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
    Jipin wrote: »
    Here is the diagram that I have.

Where is...?
    No longer an active member
  • Options
    Uriah7Uriah7 Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You need a switch in order to connect Router A and Router B to the "same interface" on router C, but it is also important to notice that this is the same thing as connecting Router B and Router C to the "same interface" on Router A, and the same thing as connecting Router C and Router A to the "same interface" on Router B. I agree with Clarson that there is an implied switch in-between Router A, B and Router C.