Options

Passed earlier this month

njchopper87njchopper87 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I found myself on these forums quite often while studying and wondering whether or not I was setting myself up for failure. I do not have the recommended level of experience for the exam, but I'll explain where I'm at for anyone considering taking the test around my level. I took the test because I could not find CSA study material before my Sec+ was going to expire. I figured I'd go for CASP, and failing that retake Sec+ to keep certs active.

I'm just around 3 months shy of 5 years IT experience. Due to a change in staff where I work I've been exposed to much more of the security portion than I thought I would be for the last 2 years. I am currently a Network Admin at a bank, and I work closely with the ISO. I have a two year degree that was Cisco centric (up to the ASA class), and had some MS and programming courses as well. Most of my instructors pounded in security from day one. This helped me tremendously in real life as was well as the exam.

I had between 72 and 78 questions; the exact number escapes me. About 8 were sims/drag and drop. Most of the sims I answered correctly. There was one where I know I should have taken one step further to get 100%, and it irritates me that I did not. I think I got one of them wrong. The multiple choice were tough, but I had a handle on a good chunk of them. I didn't quite guess, but there were some I just did not know the answer to and used process of elimination to provide an answer. A couple of them my own experience answered for me. I used the full time allotted. I was shaking when I saw that I passed, because it sure felt that I did not.