Options

How old are the passers the oscp exam?

gunmrgunmr Member Posts: 16 ■■■□□□□□□□
I wondering how old did you pass the exam? i have a few questions in my mind. i have no job experience with this sector and im 19.
i have information on linux (intermediate) , scripting with python, bash script on linux and a little network.i read penetration test books every day. is oscp too early for me? How old are the passers the oscp exam?

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    At 19, your priority should be to get a degree,some entry-level certs (A+, Network+) then work experience. It is the time in your life to get your degree, later it will be harder (work, kids, house, all those kind of distraction).

HR recruiter would probably just overlook your CV if you dont have a degree... OSCP or not. Or in the long run, it will come bite your ass.

I did the equivalent of an Associate Degree (Cegep) and I didnt pursue a Bs. C, and this limit me a bit. Now I am 40, and it would be so much harder to get it. My goal are now to get CISSP in 2017 and OSCP in 2018.
  • Options
    McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
    To answer your first question, I'm 26 and just recently passed the OSCP. I would agree with the above post in saying that getting your degree should be you number one priority rght now. I also wouldnt recommend jumping straight into OSCP without a good base knowledge which you could get from entry level certs and mid level certs such as: network +, security +, CSA+, eJPT and others. Penetration testing is a VERY broad field and invovles all things IT, without that base level of knowledge you most likely wont understand the how and why of things. Now this doesnt mean that you couldnt be successful in the course but it will defintely be much more difficult for you. I would suggest doing security + and eJPT first to get a feel for things.