Options

Need help getting Internet access on Server 2003 with router

zenboyzenboy Member Posts: 196
Calling All Nerds and Geeks!! Y'all up for a challenge?! icon_lol.gif
I'm currently studying on the SUS on the server exam and am running into problem setting up a lab to test.
I have currently setup my lab on my laptop with server 2003 and virtual XP on it, and is connected to an active hub. This setup has served me well for the xp exam and throughout this server exam study but now I need Internet access for the server 2003 to test SUS.
At home, I'm using an D-Link DI-524 router with 2 active hubs connected to it with my brother and I each using the 2 hubs. How do I go about configuring the router so that I could have my 2003 server get Internet access and still be able to maintain a static IP? In other word, my router is handling the Dynamic IP from the cable modem, and my laptop is using static IP for the server 2003. How should they be configured?
"In the beginner's mind there are many possibilities, but in the expert's there are few" - S.Suzuki

Comments

• Options
    kalebkspkalebksp Member Posts: 1,033 ■■■■■□□□□□
    So your router is handling DHCP for all other computers? If your only goal is to keep a static IP on the laptop, configure the laptop to have a static IP on the same subnet as the router, then set its default gateway to the routers IP.
  • Options
    kalebksp wrote:
    So your router is handling DHCP for all other computers? If your only goal is to keep a static IP on the laptop, configure the laptop to have a static IP on the same subnet as the router, then set its default gateway to the routers IP.

Yes, my router is handling the DHCP for all other computer. My router is using 192.168.0.1 (don't ask me why I haven't change it for security..hehe) and my laptop is configured with server 2003 with 192.168.0.1 static ip, gateway, dns server, and dhcp server on it too. Having two dhcp servers conflict with each others?