PLEASE HELP!!! Newbie requesting advice (starting out)!!!

skanejskanej Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
First let me say that I have been spending a lot of time on this site recently and I love it!!! You guys seem so helpful and encouraging.

I have learned a few quick things already: I respect everyone's efforts and commitment to their true love (IT, IS, etc). I am (nearly) middle-aged and have only recently begun an interest in the field (better late than never!). The other things I've learned here are that everyone maintains a great deal of integrity, and to have some friggin respect for the CCNA exam! :D

I have been a probation officer (yuck!) for over 5 yrs and last December a friend of mine talked me into jumping into Cisco classes with him. Since that time he has flunked out, and it didn't take me long to start loving Cisco and networking, and I now enjoy several hrs a day reading, studying and preparing for whatever exam is around the corner. I have most of the books ya'll mention here (lamle, cisco press, and several others, netsim, the academy, boson, etc.). At my age and desperation for a career change, I am quite hungry for the knowledge, thus my study habits are satisfactory.

Now- on to my request for advice... I have a degree (non-IT, field studies in fact), but I am about 7 months away from having a master's degree in IS management with concentration in information security. I am currently finishing my CCNA 2 class, and learning from the boards I have decided to wait and take the (1) exam instead of (2) parts. Upon completion of my master's degree and CCNA cert, I don't expect a quick ride straight to the top, and I understand that the best thing for any of us would be experience, but do I have a chance at a decent start?? Are there companies out there (I'm living in a big metropolitan area) that would start me out with decent pay with my education, but with the lack of ANY experience???