Options

Salary: Am I doing OK? Worth looking at bigger cities for bigger pay?

lovefishstickslovefishsticks Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning.

I am 30 years old and live with my wife in a very low CoL area -- median household income is $36,000 and median home price is $69,000.

I work in IT with fantastic benefits and my wife works for a major private university (also excellent benefits). We both like our job, but do not like the area.

I always see big salaries in larger cities -- upper 6-figures. However, I know cost of living has a big play in this. Is there any chance I'd be better off moving to a bigger city and hoping my salary would scale? How good or bad am I doing here?

We make about $145k combined (90 and 55). How would this scale to say, San Francisco, San Diego, etc? Is my best option to simply stay put?

We can expect annual raises of 3%+ and occasional promotions. I also receive a small (3%) bonus.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I made a similar transition a few years ago. The cost of living difference is going to be huge moving to a major metro like NYC or San Francisco. Assuming you're good at what you do and on the senior level you could certainly make that $145k all by yourself. Housing is likely 4x the price so it won't completely make up for it though. Not to mention everything else going up in price considerably.

Whether its worth it or not is really subjective. You only live once and if you want to try it go for it I say. I personally enjoy moving around every few years and not really the type to settle long term yet so I might be a bit biased!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    SweenMachineSweenMachine Member Posts: 300 ■■■■□□□□□□