Options

Job Advice- Direction

Blade3DBlade3D Member Posts: 110 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently a Systems Designer for an Engineering/Consulting firm. We mainly work in airports and seaports. I usually end up doing CAD work, design work, and construction administration. I've been doing this job for almost 4 years, and plan on taking the CISSP soon. I'd like to pivot to some kind of Information/Cyber Security role. Any advice on steps to take? I've become fairly discouraged in my current role, as this was not what it was made out to be. I understand some of the shortfalls as it's a VERY small business. Should I just look for entry an level job? They would probably pay roughly the same. I'm just not sure what kind of role I should be looking for especially if I pass the CISSP.
Title: Sr. Systems Designer
Degree: B.S. in Computing Science, emphasis Information Assurance
Certifications: CISSP, PSP, Network+, Security+, CySA+, OSWP

Comments

• Options
    I did end up passing the CISSP today. Any advice would be appreciated.
  • Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Passing the CISSP isn't worth as much without the required security experience to get the certification. Are you able to spin your current role into a physical/logical security gig? You also run the rick of being seen as "overqualified" for an entry-level job. What other certs do you have that might be useful? More importantly, which aspect of cyber do you want to get into? Auditing is very different than pen testing which is very different than IP CCTV.
  • Options