CCNP vs MCSA, what's next?

drewbert87drewbert87 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Folks,

First, a little background:

- I have 8 years of experience in IT doing break and fix Apple repair
- Finished CCNA last Fall
- Started working in a NOC in January

Shortly after starting here I wanted to start working on another cert because they are highly valued by my work (and also by me) and they pay for the exams. I went back and forth a bit before landing on studying for the MCSA Server 2012 since we are a mostly a Windows shop and I don't have a Windows background. I've been studying for it since February and so far I'm really bored. I sort of had an epiphany this week that I really don't ever want to be a Windows admin and I really don't want to grind out three of these tests. The material just isn't interesting to me. I sort of just started down that route since I felt like it would shore up my weakest point. However, I'm already feeling very confident working with Windows at work, doing things in PowerShell, working with AD, etc... So now I'm taking a day to re-evaluate and thought I'd ask for some opinions.

One of the main reasons I didn't go down the CCNP route earlier is because nearly everyone online says that you need at least a year of network job experience to go along with it and I didn't have that. I thought I would spend my first year in the NOC getting MCSA and then go to CCNP after that. Now I'm wondering if that's really necessary. Long term I want to work with networking and I'm interested in data center technology.